Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid — Pricing, Plans & What's Included
A per-user Azure Virtual Desktop license for running AVD session hosts on your own on-premises infrastructure, connected through Azure Arc, while the Azure Virtual Desktop service in Azure handles brokering and management.
Buy Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid when you want to keep virtual desktop session hosts on your own on-premises infrastructure — Hyper-V, VMware vSphere, Nutanix AHV, or physical Windows Server, connected through Azure Arc — while the Azure Virtual Desktop service in Azure handles brokering and management. It is a per-user license bought on top of the Windows licensing the session hosts already need: Microsoft 365 A3/A5/E3/E5/F3/F5, Windows 11 Enterprise E3/E5, or Windows 11 VDA per user for Windows 11 hosts, or a Windows Server license plus, per user, an RDS CAL with active Software Assurance, an RDS User Subscription License, or an RDS SAL for Windows Server hosts. The September 2026 Commercial catalog lists monthly, one-year, and three-year commitment paths plus a separate trial SKU.
The plain-English version
Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid is Microsoft's answer to organizations that want AVD's cloud-managed control plane without moving session hosts into Azure. The buying decision usually comes down to three things: whether your on-premises platform can be Azure Arc-enabled, whether your users already hold the Windows or RDS licensing the session hosts need (the Hybrid license sits on top of it, not in place of it), and whether the per-user license plus your own infrastructure costs beat an Azure-hosted AVD or Windows 365 alternative for your workload.
Who it's for
This is for organizations with usable on-premises server capacity — or regulatory, latency, or data-residency reasons to keep desktops local — that still want their virtual desktop brokering, management, and access control run from Azure rather than from self-managed VDI tooling.
What problem it solves
It is intended to remove the self-hosted VDI control plane: instead of operating RDS or third-party brokering on premises, you keep the desktops on your own hardware and let the Azure Virtual Desktop service handle management, subject to the capabilities Microsoft currently documents for hybrid deployments.
How companies usually start
Start by confirming your hypervisor can host Azure Arc-enabled Windows 11 Enterprise single-session or Windows Server machines, Arc-enable a small set of hosts, confirm each user's qualifying Windows or RDS licensing, and pilot with a limited host pool before committing a larger population to a term.
What an admin gets to work with
Admins should treat this as a per-user catalog license that sits on top of existing Windows licensing. The Hybrid license buys the right to run on-premises session hosts against the Azure-hosted Azure Virtual Desktop service; the session host operating system is still licensed by Microsoft 365 A3/A5/E3/E5/F3/F5, Windows 11 Enterprise E3/E5, or Windows 11 VDA per user for Windows 11 hosts, or by a Windows Server license plus, per user, an RDS CAL with active Software Assurance, an RDS User Subscription License, or an RDS SAL for Windows Server hosts — Microsoft's catalog description states both requirements.
Typical deployment pattern
A practical rollout is usually phased: Arc-enable existing or new session host VMs, register them to a host pool via the AVD Arc extension, confirm directory join and conditional-access behavior, pilot a user group, then scale by department. Because Windows 11 Enterprise multi-session is not supported on Hybrid, size for one user per Windows 11 VM or use Windows Server session hosts where shared sessions are wanted. Existing RDS estates are a common starting point.
Cost posture
Use the configurator to compare the current price for the selected term and billing frequency before ordering. The catalog lists monthly, one-year, and three-year commitments, and upfront billing carries a lower listed price than monthly billing on the same commitment. Total cost of ownership also includes the customer-supplied infrastructure and the qualifying Windows or RDS licensing; the Azure Arc control plane is offered at no extra cost, but Azure services you enable on the hosts (Azure Monitor, Defender for Cloud, Update Manager) are billed at their own rates.
What to buy with it
Confirm the qualifying license foundation first — Microsoft 365 A3/A5/E3/E5/F3/F5, Windows 11 Enterprise E3/E5, or Windows 11 VDA per user for Windows 11 hosts, or a Windows Server license plus, per user, an RDS CAL with active Software Assurance, an RDS User Subscription License, or an RDS SAL for Windows Server hosts — then consider endpoint management, security, and identity licensing for the tenant, and scope implementation or managed-AVD services separately if the team does not already run AVD.
Transferring in
If Microsoft subscriptions are held with another provider, coordinate timing and confirm renewal dates, cancellation rules, and the CSP transfer process before making changes; a partner transition is an administrative change and should not require desktop downtime when planned correctly.
What's included — and what isn't
Included
Not included
Eligibility & fine print
Eligibility & prerequisites
Prerequisites
- Each session host runs the Azure Arc connected machine agent and can reach the Azure Arc and Azure Virtual Desktop network endpoints; the Azure Virtual Desktop Arc extension installs the session host software and registers the host with a host pool.
- Session hosts are joined to a directory: Active Directory Domain Services (including Microsoft Entra hybrid join) or Microsoft Entra ID.
- Windows 11 session hosts: each user holds Microsoft 365 A3/A5/E3/E5/F3/F5, Windows 11 Enterprise E3/E5, or Windows 11 VDA per user.
- Windows Server session hosts: a Windows Server license plus, per user, an RDS CAL with active Software Assurance, an RDS User Subscription License, or an RDS SAL.
- Session host OS is Windows 11 Enterprise single-session or Windows Server 2016–2025; Windows 11 Enterprise multi-session is not supported.
Assignment model
Licensed per user. Microsoft's Azure Virtual Desktop pricing page describes the Hybrid fee as a per-user, per-month charge for running AVD session hosts on premises on existing infrastructure, managed through the Azure portal; it is assigned in addition to each user's qualifying Windows or RDS licensing.
Notes
- Microsoft Intune is not a prerequisite. It is an optional management path for Windows 11 session hosts that are Microsoft Entra joined or Microsoft Entra hybrid joined (hybrid join requires Microsoft Entra Connect); Windows Server session hosts cannot be enrolled in Intune and are managed with Group Policy.
- The Azure Arc control plane — resource organization, role-based access control, Azure Resource Graph, and templates and extensions — is offered at no extra cost per Microsoft's Azure Arc pricing page. Azure services you enable on the Arc-enabled hosts, such as Azure Monitor, Microsoft Defender for Cloud, or Azure Update Manager, are billed at their own rates.
- The September 2026 Commercial price list is the only segment in which this product is listed.
Catalog constraints & variants
- The Hybrid license is additive, not a replacement for Windows licensing. Microsoft's catalog description states that Windows 11 and Windows Server licenses are still required for the session hosts: Windows 11 hosts need Microsoft 365 A3/A5/E3/E5/F3/F5, Windows 11 Enterprise E3/E5, or Windows 11 VDA per user; Windows Server hosts need a Windows Server license plus, per user, an RDS CAL with active Software Assurance, an RDS User Subscription License, or an RDS SAL.
- Supported session host operating systems are Windows 11 Enterprise single-session and Windows Server 2016 through 2025. Windows 11 Enterprise multi-session is not supported on Hybrid, per Microsoft's May 2026 announcement.
- Session hosts can run on Microsoft Hyper-V, VMware vSphere, Nutanix AHV, or physical Windows Server — anywhere Azure Arc-enabled servers are supported. Azure Local has its own, earlier Azure Virtual Desktop on Azure Local deployment path; whether the Hybrid license applies to Azure Local VMs is not confirmed.
- The license does not supply infrastructure: session host hardware, hypervisor, storage, and networking remain the customer's responsibility.
- Microsoft's Azure Virtual Desktop pricing page states that Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid is generally available, and this license — which Microsoft said would follow the public preview — is new on the September 2026 price list. Microsoft's Hybrid overview documentation still carried the preview note (validation host pools only; production host pools to be redeployed at GA) when we last checked, so if you piloted during the preview, plan for that redeployment.
- A separate SKU tagged as a trial is listed alongside the paid per-user SKU. The catalog does not state the trial's duration, seat cap, or conversion behavior.
- When not to choose it: do not plan around this SKU if your session hosts will run in Azure (standard AVD's Azure-consumption model applies there), if you depend on Windows 11 Enterprise multi-session, or if you want a Microsoft-hosted, fixed-configuration Cloud PC (that is Windows 365).
Commitment & payment summary
The September 2026 Commercial catalog lists a monthly commitment paid monthly, a one-year commitment paid upfront or monthly, and a three-year commitment with upfront (annual or triennial) and monthly billing paths. On both the one-year and three-year commitments, paying upfront carries a lower listed price than paying monthly on the same commitment.
Frequently asked questions
What is Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid?
Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid is a deployment model and per-user license for running Azure Virtual Desktop session hosts on your own on-premises infrastructure while the AVD management service stays in Azure. Microsoft announced it in public preview in May 2026; its Azure Virtual Desktop pricing page now states it is generally available, and the dedicated license appeared on the September 2026 price list. Session hosts connect to the service through Azure Arc, so the desktops run on your hardware but are brokered and managed from the cloud.
Is Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid generally available?
Microsoft's Azure Virtual Desktop pricing page states that Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid is generally available, and the per-user license — which Microsoft said would follow the public preview — is new on the September 2026 price list. When we last checked, Microsoft's Hybrid overview documentation still carried the preview-era note that only validation host pools were supported and that production host pools would need redeployment at GA. If you piloted during the preview, plan for that redeployment; if you are starting now, confirm production host pool support in the current documentation before committing to a term.
How is Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid different from standard Azure Virtual Desktop?
With standard Azure Virtual Desktop the session hosts are virtual machines in Azure, so you pay Azure consumption for compute, storage, and networking while user access rights come through qualifying Microsoft licenses. With the Hybrid model the session hosts run on customer-operated infrastructure — Hyper-V, VMware vSphere, Nutanix AHV, or physical Windows Server — and the catalog lists a per-user license for the hybrid service instead of Azure-hosted session host consumption. One difference to plan for: Hybrid supports Windows 11 Enterprise single-session and Windows Server session hosts, but not Windows 11 Enterprise multi-session.
How is Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid different from Windows 365?
Windows 365 is a Microsoft-hosted Cloud PC service where you buy a fixed per-user configuration and Microsoft runs the infrastructure. Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid keeps the infrastructure with you: your servers host the desktops, and the per-user license connects them to the Azure-hosted AVD management plane. Choose Windows 365 when you want Microsoft to operate everything, and consider Hybrid when the desktops must stay on your own hardware.
What infrastructure can host Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid session hosts?
Microsoft's announcement lists Microsoft Hyper-V, VMware vSphere, Nutanix AHV, and physical Windows Server machines — broadly, anywhere Azure Arc-enabled servers can run on premises. Each session host needs the Azure Arc connected machine agent, and the AVD components are installed through an Arc extension that registers the host with a host pool. Azure Local is a separate case: it has its own Azure Virtual Desktop on Azure Local deployment path, and whether the Hybrid license applies to Azure Local VMs is not confirmed.
Is there a free trial for Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid?
The September 2026 Commercial catalog lists a separate Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid SKU tagged as a trial on a monthly term alongside the paid per-user SKU. The trial's duration, seat cap, and conversion behavior are not stated in the catalog data and are not documented publicly, so ask us to confirm the current trial terms in Partner Center before planning an evaluation around it.
What licensing prerequisites should be confirmed before buying Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid?
Microsoft's catalog description for the SKU states the requirements directly. Windows 11 and Windows Server licenses are still required for the session hosts. For Windows 11 session hosts, each user needs one of Microsoft 365 A3/A5/E3/E5/F3/F5, Windows 11 Enterprise E3/E5, or Windows 11 VDA. For Windows Server session hosts, the server needs a Windows Server license and each user needs an RDS CAL with active Software Assurance, an RDS User Subscription License, or an RDS SAL. The Hybrid license is bought in addition to those. Beyond licensing, session hosts must be Azure Arc-enabled and joined to Active Directory Domain Services or Microsoft Entra ID.
Do I need Microsoft Intune for Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid?
No. Microsoft's Hybrid deployment prerequisites are the Azure Arc connected machine agent, network access to the Azure Arc and Azure Virtual Desktop endpoints, and a directory join (Active Directory Domain Services or Microsoft Entra ID). Intune is an optional management path for Windows 11 session hosts that are Microsoft Entra joined or Microsoft Entra hybrid joined; hybrid join requires Microsoft Entra Connect. Windows Server session hosts cannot be enrolled in Intune and are managed with Group Policy.
What commitment and billing options are shown for Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid?
The September 2026 Commercial catalog lists a monthly commitment paid monthly, a one-year commitment paid upfront or monthly, and a three-year commitment with upfront and monthly billing paths. On both the one-year and three-year commitments, paying upfront carries a lower listed price than paying monthly on the same commitment; use the configurator to compare the current price for the selected term before ordering.
Does the Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid license include the servers or any Azure infrastructure?
No, the license does not supply infrastructure: session host hardware, hypervisor licensing, storage, and networking remain the customer's responsibility, which is the point of the model for organizations with existing capacity. Microsoft's pricing page describes the offer as a per-user, per-month fee for on-premises session hosts managed through the Azure portal. On the Azure side, the Azure Arc control plane is offered at no extra cost per Microsoft's Azure Arc pricing page; Azure services you enable on the hosts, such as Azure Monitor, Microsoft Defender for Cloud, or Azure Update Manager, are billed at their own rates.
Same Microsoft price — more on your side
Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid is a new 2026 license whose prerequisites span Azure Arc, directory join, and the Windows or RDS licensing your session hosts already need, so the safest path is to validate the deployment model and licensing position first and purchase the term that matches a tested rollout plan.
- We help confirm whether Hybrid, Azure-hosted AVD, or Windows 365 is the right model for your workload before you commit to a term.
- We validate prerequisites — Arc enablement, directory join, and the qualifying Microsoft 365, Windows Enterprise, VDA, or RDS licensing — against Microsoft's catalog description and current documentation.
- We help compare the listed monthly, one-year, and three-year commitment paths against your rollout timeline.
- If you need help beyond licensing, we can separately scope AVD implementation or managed services rather than treating them as included entitlements.
Deploy it right
Microsoft SKUs for Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid
Microsoft's catalog identifies this plan as ProductId CFQ7TTBZV5R2. Every full SKU below — the identifier format from Partner Center, Microsoft invoices, and o365hq.com quote links — resolves to this page, priced from the current US CSP price list. Ask us if your paperwork shows a SKU that isn’t listed.
| Our SKU (order token) | Microsoft SKU | Offer | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
CFQ7TTBZV5R2-0003-P1Y-A | CFQ7TTBZV5R2:0003 | Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid — Commercial · 1-year commitment · annual billing | $108.00/yr · $9.00/user/mo eq. |
CFQ7TTBZV5R2-0003-P1Y-M | CFQ7TTBZV5R2:0003 | Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid — Commercial · 1-year commitment · monthly billing | $9.45/mo · $9.45/user/mo eq. |
CFQ7TTBZV5R2-0003-P1M-M | CFQ7TTBZV5R2:0003 | Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid — Commercial · 1-month commitment · monthly billing | $10.00/mo · $10.00/user/mo eq. |
CFQ7TTBZV5R2-0003-P3Y-A | CFQ7TTBZV5R2:0003 | Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid — Commercial · 3-year commitment · annual billing | $120.00/yr · $10.00/user/mo eq. |
CFQ7TTBZV5R2-0003-P3Y-T | CFQ7TTBZV5R2:0003 | Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid — Commercial · 3-year commitment · triennial billing | $360.00/36mo · $10.00/user/mo eq. |
CFQ7TTBZV5R2-0003-P3Y-M | CFQ7TTBZV5R2:0003 | Azure Virtual Desktop Hybrid — Commercial · 3-year commitment · monthly billing | $10.50/mo · $10.50/user/mo eq. |
Format: ProductId-SkuId-Term-Billing(A = annual billing, M = monthly, T = triennial). Prices are Microsoft ERP for the segment shown and change with Microsoft’s monthly price list. Prices verified 2 September 2026 against the Microsoft NCE price list.
Informational — we’ll confirm exact entitlements with you. Product specifics are governed by the Microsoft Product Terms and the applicable licensing documentation. Prices refresh monthly under Microsoft’s New Commerce Experience; terms may change at renewal.